Skip to content

Adventures with Fondant

February 22, 2011

Wow. Just, wow. Today was definitely a learning experience! In step 1 of a friend’s rather complicated birthday cake, I made fondant for the first time ever. Bakingdom‘s Marshmallow Fondant, to be exact.

Now, I don’t have a microwave, or a double boiler, so it was down to a pyrex bowl and a sauce pan. I was really worried about the marshmallows burning, since I know candy burns easy. However, the marshmallows melted nicely, and mixed well. I just had to add them slowly so as not to over flow my bowl.

Mixing was another story. Oh. My. God. Never use an electric hand-held mixer for fondant unless you have a second person there to hold the bowl. If you try to do it yourself either A) Your bowl will be spinning like the Tasmanian Devil, or you will have marshmallow strings being flung across your kitchen. I eventually gave up on mixer and did it by hand, in the bowl, because, well, I didn’t have enough clean counter space to do it there.

So after a bit of elbow grease, and a whole lot of sticky fingers, I got myself a nice ball of fondant dough.

As you can see, there was powdered sugar EVERYWHERE. Next time I decide to make something with fondant I will definitely wait until I have a fancy stand mixer.

In a few days I’ll have another post with the sculpting. Should be fun!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    December 8, 2011 5:16 pm

    Awesome! Did you use salted or unsalted butter?

    • December 8, 2011 5:28 pm

      I don’t remember off the top of my head, but I’m going to go with Salted. I have a bad habit of using that in baking, even though you’re supposed to go with unsalted most times… either way, it tasted great!

  2. January 8, 2012 1:53 pm

    looks awesome :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

