Skip to content

Panko-Crusted Fish, and Roasted Potatoes

February 11, 2011

Wow, so I haven’t been on here in a while. I’ve been taking pictures (when I actually do cook) I just haven’t gotten around to posting any. That should change, and I will try to be much better from now on!

Anyways! On to the food!

This was dinner last night, and let me tell you, it was delicious! The recipe is from simplyrecipes.com and can be found here. I changed the recipe a little bit, due to not having fresh herbs on hand. I used Italian Seasoning instead, and it came out great. I also used about half of the panko, since I only had two pieces of fish, not three, and I think it was too much. Either that or I didn’t use enough mustard…

A very simple recipe, for prep I only dirtied one dish!

First line a pan with foil, and place your fish skin side down. I would suggest greasing the foil with a bit of olive oil, as my skin stuck to the foil, not the fish. Sprinkle fish with salt and pepper, then smear with honey mustard. This was not enough mustard, and the crust was TOO dry. I suggest adding more. After mustard sprinkle on fresh herbs or dry seasoning, whichever is available.

In a medium mixing bowl (the only one you’ll dirty!) mix panko, herbs/seasoning, paprika, and olive oil. I completely ignored the directions, to be honest, and just sort of dumped everything in the bowl. I used 1/3 cup of panko and each piece of fish had a generous heaping on top. Hubster liked it, but it was too much for me. Next time, as I’ve said before, more mustard or less breadcrumbs.

Originally I was going to make the fish with an asparagus recipe also from simplyrecipes.com. However due to power outages, distractions, and general laziness over the past few weeks, said asparagus went bad. Horrible and wasteful, I know. So, I had potatoes in the cabinet from a previous dinner (which silly me never took pictures of), and decided to use those instead. The only problem? The potatoes needed to be cooked for 30 minutes at 450, and the fish 12 at 400. My solution? Dump the potatoes in the toaster oven! (ignore the grease coating on the inside of the oven, please. It’s old and refuses to come off)

The potatoes are, like the fish, super easy to make. Quarter a handful of small red potatoes, and place on a foil lined baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with the same fresh herbs/seasonings as the fish, salt and pepper to taste, garlic powder (if you want) and freshly grated Parmesan cheese. Toss the potatoes to make sure they’re coated and toss them in the oven. Make sure after 15 minutes or so to turn them, or else they’ll stick to the foil something nasty.

When everything is all nice and brown, and the fish flakes easily, pull it out, plate it, and enjoy!

Recipe: taken from Simply Recipes

INGREDIENTS

4 teaspoons olive oil
4 pieces thickly cut, boneless salmon (each 6 oz)
Salt and pepper to taste
2 Tbsp honey mustard or sweet-hot mustard
2 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme
2/3 cup panko bread crumbs
2 Tbsp chopped Italian parsley
1/2 teaspoon Hungarian sweet paprika

METHOD

1 Preheat the oven to 400°F (convection or regular). Set the salmon on a foil-lined baking sheet skin side down. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

2 In a small bowl, combine the honey mustard and 1 teaspoon of the thyme. In another small bowl, mix the panko with the remaining 1 teaspoon of thyme, 4 teaspoons of olive oil, parsley, and paprika. Add salt and pepper (a light sprinkle).

3 Using a small spoon, spread the mustard mixture on the salmon; top with the bread crumb mixture.

4 Roast the salmon for 12-14 minutes (test at 10) or until it is almost completely firm to the touch and flakes when poked with a fork. Serve at once.

Serves 4.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

