Skip to content

World Famous Chicken Casserole

August 13, 2010

I can say that. A friend from England loves it. In fact, everybody I’ve made this for loves it. So you will too. It’s a super simple recipe, originally gotten off the internet somewhere by my mother, but I lost the recipe years ago.

Ingredients for Chicken Casserole. Chicken, cream of chicken soup, sour cream, lemon pepper, ritz crackers, butter, poppy seeds.Start with the ingredients. Chicken, Ritz Crackers, Cream of Chicken soup, Sour Cream, Butter, Lemon Pepper, Poppy Seeds.

Shredded Chicken BreastBoil and Shred your chicken. Or do like my mom used to do. Skip the boiling and buy a rotisserie chicken from the store.

Chicken, sour cream, cream of chicken soup, and lemon pepper mixed in a bowl.Mix with the Soup, Sour Cream, and Lemon Pepper (optional, but we put lemon pepper in, oh, just about everything)

crushed ritz crackersNow, for the stress relief! Crush up Crackers in a Zip-loc baggy. Big, small, microscopic, up to you. I do a mix.

Melted Butter in a potIf you’re a normal person and own a microwave, dump your butter in a bowl and nuke it. I, however, do not own a microwave so I get to melt my butter the old fashion way!

Crushed Ritz Cracker, poppy seeds, and melted butter in a pot.Once butter is melted add the crushed crackers and poppy seed.

the topping for my casseroleMix well! Yum, my favorite part! Note: If your crackers look too dry or too moist, you can always add more butter/crushed crackers as needed.

Chicken Casserole ready to go in the oven.Put everything in a 8×8 casserole dish. I always use a glass one.

Finished Chicken Casserole ready to dish out.Heat until Golden Brown and Bubbly!

Dish of my world famous chicken casseroleServe and Enjoy!

Recipie:
Servings: 2-4
4 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts, boiled and shredded OR one whole chicken, cooked, de-boned and shredded
11.5 oz can Cream of Chicken Soup
8 oz Sour Cream
1 tsp. Lemon Pepper (optional)
4 tbsp Butter or Margrine
2 tsp poppy seeds
Roughly 25 Ritz Crackers, crushed

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Mix shredded chicken, cream of chicken soup, sour cream, and Lemon Pepper, in a large bowl. (add more soup & sour cream for a creamier casserole)
Dump into 8×8 un-greased baking dish.
Melt butter. Add crushed crackers and poppy seed. Mix thoroughly.
Sprinkle cracker mixture on top of chicken mixture.
Cook at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes until top is golden brown and mixture is bubbly.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 2:16 am

    yuuuummmm the poppy seed really makes this interesting! Now I’m thinking we need to make lemon poppy seed muffins!

  2. Megan M. permalink
    October 25, 2010 3:33 am

    Best chicken casserole ever.

Leave a comment